Editorial Team

Remarkable Flinders University staff, students and alumni have been recognised through some of the highest Queen’s Birthday honours this year.

These include Professor Adrian Linacre, whose forensic innovations and expert skills in getting more from a crime scene have led advances in DNA profiling, seen him provide pivotal evidence to cases around the world, and take on illegal trading in exotic animals.

“Whatever people have touched – from someone who’s handled or opened a ziplock plastic bag containing controlled substances, to a spent bullet cartridge – we can now obtain high quality evidence.” Professor Linacre says.

“These techniques are being transferred into professional practice in Australia and around the world.”

The Flinders University Chair in Forensic Technology was today awarded an OAM for his services to forensic science, recognising research and education leadership that is transforming crime investigation and nurturing tomorrow’s experts – to the extent of self-funding students to attend an international conference.

Flinders University’s Deputy Chancellor Elizabeth Perry was also honoured, recognised for her significant service to tertiary education, business and the community through the awarding of an AM.

Ms Perry has served over many years as chairman and board member of organisations on a local, national and international basis, particularly in tertiary education, community and commercial areas. She has been able to draw on her extensive experience as an employment law specialist.

“It’s a great privilege to serve in diverse businesses over the years.” she says.

“I have been fortunate to be part of organisations that matter deeply to our community. In each role I have held, I have really enjoyed working closely with staff, management, stakeholders and other directors to ensure we make decisions that are evidence based, innovative and forward thinking. The best decisions are made where differing points of view are heard and valued.”

Other outstanding staff to receive awards include Professor Marcello Costa, Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor and Chair of Neurophysiology at Flinders University. Professor Costa was awarded an AO for distinguished services to higher education and medical research in the field of neurophysiology, and to professional scientific bodies.

His contributions have advanced the enormous and growing body of knowledge on how the nervous system of the gut works. His passion for public education in neuroscience has also been recognised.

“Understanding the neural mechanisms that control gut function will give clinicians greater possibilities to develop effective therapies,” Professor Costa says.

A total of fourteen people from Flinders University’s direct community were honoured through the 2020 Queens Birthday honours including alumni.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Professor Marcello Costa AO

Constituency: Current Staff

Citation: For distinguished service to higher education, and to medical research, in the field of neurophysiology, and to professional scientific bodies

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Ms Elizabeth Perry AM

Constituency: Council Member

Citation: For significant service to tertiary education, to business, and to the community

Dr Jennifer Ann Abbey AM

Constituency: Former staff

Citation: For significant service to the health of aged persons, particularly to pain care management

Ms Sarah Louise Brown AM, GradDipHlthAdmin ‘15

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For significant service to community health, to remote area nursing, and to the Indigenous community

Dr Sara Louise Jones AM, MSc(PHC) ‘94

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For significant service to medical education, to podiatry, and to professional groups

Dr John Craig Byrne AM, BSc(Hons) ‘70

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For significant service to people who are deaf or hard of hearing, and to social justice

Professor Paul Nathaniel Smith AM, BM, BS ‘86

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For significant service to orthopaedic medicine as a surgeon, and to medical administration

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Professor Adrian Linacre OAM

Constituency: Current staff

Citation: For service to forensic science

Ms Meredith Lee Edwards OAM, DipEd ‘77

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For service to education

Mr Darryl John Pope OAM, DipT ‘79

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For service to surf lifesaving, and to music education

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mrs Noelani Verina Reardon PSM, GCertPubSecMgmt ‘13

Constituency: Graduate

Citation: For outstanding public service to road safety in New South Wales

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)

Ms Michelle Christine Young AFSM, GCertPubSecMgmt ‘14

Constituency: Graduate

Emergency Services Medal (ESM)

Mr Dermot Finbar Barry ESM, MPubAdmin(Mgmt) ‘05

Constituency: Graduate

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)

Mr Darryll Fleming ACM, GCertPubSecMgmt ‘12

Constituency: Graduate

Content Disclaimer

Related Articles